Koi Terminology for the Water Pond Enthusiast

Anytime you learn a language other than yours it can become quite difficult to remember. This article will help you break the Japanese language down to make it easier to retain. A big part of the Koi names are the colors. I’ve broken the terminology into categories. They are colors, age of Koi, body parts, sizes and other Japanese words. I did not include the terminology used in judging as this is quite large. hachi-papa I want you to learn something from this without being overwhelmed. We’ll start the list of categories with the colors in order by the English word.

English = Japanese

Orange = Orenji
Red = Hi (markings) or Aka (body)
Deep Red = Beni
Blue = Ai
Light Blue = Akebi or Mizu
Medium Blue = Narumi
Dark Blue = Konjo
White = Shiro
Yellow = Ki
Yellow/Green = Hisoku
Green = Midori or Koshi
Gold (metallic) = Kin
Silver (metallic) = Gin
Platinum = Purachina
Grey = Sora
Brown = Cha
Black = Karasu (body), Sumi or Kuro (markings)
Barely Visible Black = Sokozumi

Japanese = English

Tosai = Koi up to 1 year old
Nesai = Koi from 1 – 2 years old
Sansai = Koi 2-3 years old
Yonsai = Four year old Koi
Gosai = Five year old Koi
Yogyo = Young fish

Doh = Body
Hachi = Head
Kao = Area between cheeks on face
Hara = Abdominal area
Koke = Scale
Kuchi = Lips
Men = Face
Tebire = Pectoral fin
Namitate = Dorsal Fin
Ozuke = Base of tail
Ozutsu = Body area behind the dorsal fin
Penducle = Area just before the tail

Bu = Size division
Ichi bu = Size one
Ni Bu = Size two
San bu = Size three
Yon bu = Size four
Go bu = Size five
Roku bu = Size six
Shiki bu = Size seven

Aka Hana = Red Nose
Ami = Net
Arashi Kumo = Storm Clouds
Ato = Late appearing
Bire = Fire
Dagoi = Poor quality of fish
Yotsa = Four
Goi = Carp or fish
Goke = Fish scale
Hiagari = Intensity of red color
Hinomaru = Sun rising
Iromono = Name used for all metallic koi
Jari = Gravel
Jihada = Texture of Koi’s skin
Kana = Male Koi
Kindai = Modern
Koi-dangi = The word means us, Koi enthusiasts!
Kokenami = Line of scales
Koromo = Robed
Kujaku = Peacock
Leather Koi = Koi with no visible scales
Momo = One
Moyo = More than one color
Muji = Single solid color
Ochibashigure = Autumn leaves on the water
Oiya = Parent
Oiyagoi = Parent Koi
Oyugu Hoseki = Living Jewels
Pongoi = Good quality fish
Sanshoku = Three Colors
Sarasa = Bright Feelings
Taki = Waterfall
Teri = Gloss
Tetsu = Iron
Tsuya = Luster
Utsuri = Reflections

For all the Ko-dangi out there, I hope you enjoyed the list. It helped me to have the words in categories rather than a long list. It is much easier to find what you want and I hope you were better able to find things this way too! Any time you talk about a waterfall pond [http://www.pondfiltersandmore.com] and Koi, the terminology can become difficult. Don’t let it overwhelm you. If you keep your list handy and refer to it whenever you need to, it won’t be that bad. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *